Chair Linda De Meirleir (Belgium)
Members Nina Barisic (Croatia), Gunther Bernert (Austria), Dana Craiu (Romania), Isabelle Desguerre (France), Rob Forsyth (UK), Lieven Lagae (Belgium), Jean-Pierre Lin (UK), Barbara Plecko (Austria), Raili Riikonen (Finland), Michael Willemsen (Netherlands), Dimitirios Zafeiriou (Greece), Sameer Zuberi (UK)

EPNS congress

The main role of the EPNS Scientific Committee is to advise on the scientific programme of the EPNS congress, as well as symposia or sessions organized, or co-organized, by the EPNS within scientific meetings of other societies (eg. European Academy of Childhood Disability, EACD).

The Scientific Committee also organizes workshops, usually attached to congresses, aimed at the development of guidelines for diagnosis and/or treatment trials in specific pathologies.ç

European Research Conference in Paediatric Neurology

Another important activity of the EPNS Scientific Committee is the development of a European Research Conference in Paediatric Neurology, held every two years. The Conference is intended to enable researchers in various fields of Paediatric Neurology to meet colleagues in the same field in order to facilitate collaboration, and to foster the building of research networks. The first meeting took place in October 3 – 4, 2008 in Tübingen, Germany in collaboration with the German speaking Paediatric Neurology Society (GNP). This meeting was formerly run as “Wissenschaftliche Statuskonferenz” of the GNP (German-speaking Society of Paediatric Neurology).

The general aim of the meeting is to support especially young researchers to meet their colleagues in the field for an exchange in order to facilitate collaboration and to extend or to build up research networks. The detailed programme for each meeting will be decided between the hosting

The programme is structured as follows:

Parallel sessions for several (currently eight) working groups (approximately 3 hours). Invited plenary lectures of interest to all working groups to be organized by two working groups (4 – 6 lectures, 30 min. per lecture).
Feedback from the working groups in plenary sessions:

1st EPNS Research Meeting 2008: Tübingen, Germany
2nd EPNS Research Meeting 2010: Leuven, Belgium
3rd EPNS Research Meeting 2012: Beuggen, Germany
4th EPNS Research Meeting 2014: Bucharest, Romania

Working groups

(established at the 3rd EPNS Research Meeting 2012 in Beuggen/Rheinfelden (Germany). Enquiries and suggestions regarding working groups that might take advantage of this meeting should be sent to the EPNS office (info@epns.info) for the attention of the chair of the scientific committee, Ingeborg Krägeloh-Mann.

Neonatal Neurology, Neurodegeneration and Neuroprotection

Chair: Regina Trollmann (regina.trollmann@uk-erlangen.de)

Metabolics

Chairs: Linda De Meirleir (linda.demeirleir@uzbrussel.be) Barbara Plecko (barbara.plecko@kispi.uzh.ch)

Ataxia

Chair: Peter Baxter (p.s.baxter@sheffield.ac.uk)

Developmental Neurology

1. Systemic Neurology/Clinical Neurophysiology/Functional Imaging, Chair: Volker Mall (volker.mall@tum.de)

2. The more classical Developmental Neurology (evaluation, outcome and intervention in Developmental Disorders), Chair: Joachim Pietz (joachim.pietz@med.uni-heidelberg.de).

Neuromuscular group

Chair: Volker Straub (volker.straub@newcastle.ac.uk)

Autoimmune inflammatory diseases

Chair: Kevin Rostasy, Banu Anlar, Martin Häusler (mhaeusler@ukaachen.de)

Epilepsy

Chair: Alexis Arzimanoglou (aarzimanoglou@orange.fr) and Helen Cross (h.cross@ucl.ac.uk)

Attention Deficit Disorder (new working group!)

Chair: Manuel Antonio Fernandez (drlolo13@hotmail.com)

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]